President – Matthew Yeung (UBC '19) - FCDSA President 2018-2019

Matthew was appointed to the Council in May 2016.  He has served as a member of the Finance Committee and was elected Vice-President at the 2017 Annual General Meeting.  As vice-president, Matthew served as Chairperson of the Finance Committee and played an important role in planning the Canadian Dental Student Conference in January 2018. Matthew was elected president of federation at the 2018 AGM and took office in June 2018. During his president, Matthew helped establish the framework for the second Canadian Dental Student Conference (CDSC) to be held in Vancouver on January 10-11, 2020.

Julie Delcorde (Toronto '18) - FCDSA President 2017-2018

Julie joined the Council in April 2016 and was elected Regional Councillor – Central Canada at the 2016 Annual General Meeting. That same year, Julie was appointed member of the Student Wellness Committee as well as chairperson of the Dental Student Conference Committee, which made the initial preparations for the inaugural 2018 Canadian Dental Student Conference (CDSC). Julie was elected president of federation at the 2017 AGM. During her presidency, Julie also served as Chair of the Canadian Dental Student Conference (CDSC) Organizing Committee. The 2018 CDSC was held in Toronto in January 2018 and was a great success.

Khashayar Gharavi (Toronto ’17) - FCDSA President 2015-2017

Khashayar was elected to a second term as president of the federation in April 2016, during his last year as a dental student at the University of Toronto. He joined the Council in April 2014 and was elected Regional Councillor for Central Canada at that meeting. When a vacancy was unexpectedly created, he was appointed as interim Vice-President and Chair of Finance Committee in January 2015. He was elected President at the 2015 Annual General Meeting and re-elected for a second term in 2016. He was appointed to a number of committees and working groups and has represented the FCDSA at ACFD, ASDA, CDA, CDSPI and NDEB meetings.  He is also a member of the CDSPI Advisory Panel.

Khashayar now practices in Toronto but is keeping his hand in FCDSA activities by helping out with the upcoming Canadian Dental Student Conference in January 2018.

Toufic Boulos (Montréal ’15) - FCDSA President 2014-2015

Toufic became involved in the federation as one of the 20 student representatives that attended the November 26, 2011 exploratory meeting in Ottawa to consider whether Canadian dentistry students should form a national organization. He continued to represent l'Université de Montréal, serving on the Student Bylaw Working Group. At the first FCDSA Annual General Meeting held June 2012, he was elected as the Regional Councillor – Eastern Canada and increased his involvement by serving as Chair of the Internal Communications Committee and member of the Election Protocol Working Group.  Toufic was elected Vice-President for 2013-2014 and was elected President for 2014-2015. 

Since graduating in 2015, Toufic completed the General Practice Residency Program at the Montefiore Medical Center in New York City and a year of Oral Surgery Internship. In June 2017, he moved back to Montreal where he works in general practice dentistry. He plans to return to studies in oral maxillofacial surgery in the next few years.

Shannon Munsie (Western ’14) - FCDSA President 2013-2014

When Shannon became president of the federation, she was a 4th year dental student at the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry at Western University. Her local involvement included joining the UWO MedOutreach program, where she educated people about systemic diseases and provided free dental care at the Nkoaranga Lutheran Hospital. During her presidency, she represented the FCDSA at the National Dental Examining Board of Canada (NDEB) Annual Meeting and the Canadian Dental Association (CDA) Annual General Meeting.  She served as an ex-officio member of all committees and continued serving on the Internal Communications Committee.

After graduation, Shannon pursued a dental residency at the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) in Toronto. She is now specializing in pediatric dentistry at the University of Washington.

Jay Chan (UBC ’14) - FCDSA President 2012-2013

As one of the original 20 council members, Jay represented the University of British Columbia from 2011-2014.  He served as a member of the Student Bylaw Working Group and was elected the first FCDSA President for 2012-2013. As President, Jay represented the FCDSA at various national meetings, including the NDEB and CDA. He was actively involved in a number of committees and working groups, including the Council Invitation Working Group and Election Protocol Working Group. Although his term as President ended in June of 2013, Jay offered to serve as Regional Councillor – Western Canada for an additional year, during which he served as Chair of the Internal Communications Committee and member of the External Communications Committee.

Jay now practices in Emerald Park, Saskatchewan where he has settled with his young family.