Governing bodies

The federation is comprised of ten member associations, that is one dental student society/association from each of the 10 dental schools in Canada.

The governing body of the federation is the Council which is composed of 20 representatives, including two representatives from each of the 10 member associations/dental schools. The Executive of the federation reports to the Council and is elected by the Council from its 20 members. This includes the president, vice president, and three regional councillors representing their schools in western, central and eastern Canada.

The Western Canada region is comprised of the University of Alberta, the University of British Columbia and the University of Saskatchewan.  The Central Canada region is comprised of the University of Manitoba, the University of Western Ontario and the University of Toronto.  The Eastern Canada region is comprised of l’Université de Montréal, McGill University, l’Université Laval and Dalhousie University.

The work of the Council is undertaken by a number of committees and working groups established with specific terms of reference. Committees are standing bodies and working groups are established to undertake projects and tasks for a more specific period of time.

More detailed information on the Council, Executive, committees and working groups can be found in other pages found in this section.